I am proud of this weird yarn patch

I am teaching myself to weave. I’m not sure why, but I’m filled with inspiration and motivation to learn this skill and use it to make beautiful and/or functional woven things for myself and others.

At first, I thought, “Chill, this is gonna be just like calligraphy and you’re gonna get in over your head.”

And then I thought, “But it’s just yarn. There’s no ink or digitization or business involved. You want to do it. Just do it.”

And this is my first woven thing. This lop-sided, oddly colored, patchy little rag is hanging on my wall because I am proud of it. And I definitely wrote an entire page of notes on how to not do things the next time around. That’s how you learn, right?

Leave a Reply

